Get out of your own way… learn what’s really keeping you stuck in creating the life you desire.

Image

I’ve got an important question for you today:

Do you have a fear of success? Even if you don’t think so, stick with me for a minute.

Do you ever feel ready to take it to take it to the next level, and yet you find yourself behaving in ways that directly conflict with what you say you want? Maybe you dream of advancing your career, starting to date, putting yourself out there… Or maybe you dream of having the energy and confidence that comes from taking better care of your body, and yet you still eat the crap food and never make time to work out or show yourself some self-love.
 
Does this sound familiar? If so, don’t fret.
It’s not that your ego or your willpower are weak, but there exists an asset within us that is even more powerful that could be keeping you stuck: the subconscious mind.

According to research, approximately 3% of your processing power comes from the conscious mind while a whopping 97% is the subconscious mind. This means that if there is something deep within you that believes “I’m not worthy of success”, that’s what you’ll be manifesting. In other words, it doesn’t matter how much you say you want success, if you believe somewhere deep inside that success equals some kind of pain (judgment, guilt, rejection, vulnerability, loss of time, loss of freedom, deprivation or shame), you will NOT let yourself do what it takes to succeed. 
 
The great news is, I’ve got just what you need to turn this around. Below are 6 steps to reprogram the subconscious mind to get out of your own way and get what you want, courtesy of Dr. Catherine Collautt, Ph.D).

  1. Awareness: recognize the resistance.

This means being aware of it and consciously and deliberately negotiating it. For years, I struggled to find my happy weight, not realizing that, no matter how hard I tried to perfect my diet and exercise, I always ended up self-sabotaging my efforts. Being a goal-oriented person, it was incredibly frustrating that, despite my hard work, I wasn’t getting what I wanted. So what was holding me back? It was the fear of rejection and vulnerability. I was scared that if I successfully lost the weight and started to feel good, that my friends and family and others around me would start treating me differently and they might judge me or not like me so my subconscious mind chose to believe that it was safer to hold on to the weight because it was protecting me from something. Ain’t that some shit?

  1. Be humble.

Don’t assume you know everything, or anything for that matter. Listen to your subconscious mind and see what you can learn from it.

  1. Get specific.

What are the fears of getting or having what you want? What exactly is your subconscious looking out for?

  1. Make a promise to yourself.

Set the intention to work with, not against the fear/subconscious mind. This is part of what Dr. Collautt describes as making the fear a non-issue.

  1. Find examples.

Your subconscious can and will do anything that you tell it is possible.

  1. Solidify and affirm.

As Dr. Collautt says, “Remind yourself of the road, the only road in light of your promise (above) that you are actually taking. The more ingrained your new perspective becomes in the subconscious, the more it uses its power and resources to facilitate and work towards your goal and, effectively, execute on your behalf; and the easier it will be for you to manifest or materialize it.”

In the comments below, I want to know:

Have you ever had a fear of success and overcome it? What exactly did you do?

What subconscious beliefs do you think might be getting in the way of your success and how can this method help you right now?

 

Much love,

Stephanie

 

* For more on Dr. Collaut and her 6 steps, click here (https://s3.amazonaws.com/marieforleo.com/CatherineCollauttMarieTV.pdf)

 

One thought on “Get out of your own way… learn what’s really keeping you stuck in creating the life you desire.

Leave a comment